header graphic
Connect with Onondaga County Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On X (Twitter) Watch Us On Youtube



Onondaga County Legislature



Leg Seal

Timothy T. Burtis, Chairman
Jamie McNamara, Clerk

401 Montgomery Street
Room 407 Court House
Syracuse, New York 13202
(315) 435-2070
(315) 435-8434 (fax)

Email Jamie McNamara



Connect with the Legislature


The Legislature is the chief policy-making body for Onondaga County. The Legislature meets on the first Tuesday of each month (other than holidays) in Regular Session. Additional Special Sessions may be called from time to time when pressing matters cannot wait for the next scheduled monthly meeting.

In discharging its responsibilities, the Legislature operates through 6 standing committees. Each standing committee oversees the work of executive branch departments and is expected to review and study policy issues related to the subject matter under its jurisdiction. The standing committees also meet on a monthly schedule, with additional special meetings and joint meetings scheduled as needed.

The Legislature's primary annual responsibility is to review the County Executive's proposed budget, modify it (if necessary) and approve an adopted County Budget. The review is conducted by the Legislature's Ways and Means Committee during the last two weeks of September. The budget, with the committee's changes, then goes to a public hearing in early October, with a vote by the full Legislature taking place in a Budget Session in mid-October.

The Legislature consists of 17 members, each of whom is elected from a single-member district, which contained at the time they were drawn in 2021, approximately 28,030 people. Three districts are located entirely within the City of Syracuse, eleven are located entirely outside of Syracuse, and three are located partly within and partly outside of the City. All members are elected to two-year terms in odd-numbered years, per the Onondaga County Charter.

The Legislature is presided over by the Chair, who is elected by the members at the first meeting of the year subsequent to an election. The Floor Leaders are announced by the respective party caucuses at the same time.

To Provide Feedback About the Disability Accessibility of An Onondaga County Department's Website, Click Here to Access the Department's Contact Page

© 2001-  Onondaga County, New York  All Rights Reserved.   |  Ongov.net  |  Privacy Statement | Directions & Parking | Language or Disability Access Assistance