header graphic
Connect with Onondaga County Like Us On FacebookFollow Us On Twitter See Us On Youtube

Onondaga County/Syracuse Commission on Human Rights

John H. Mulroy Civic Center
15th Floor East 
421 Montgomery Street
Syracuse, NY 13202
(315) 435-3565

Our office is staffed from
8 am to 4 pm. Mon - Fri.

Human Rights Commission Members

The members of the Human Rights Commission include up to 24 Commissioners who are confirmed by vote of the Onondga County Legislature to serve staggered three-year terms. This includes 18 members appointed by the County Executive subject to Legislature approval.  6 of those appointments are based on Legislator recommendation.  6 additional members are appointed directly by the Mayor of Syracuse.


On June 7, 2016 the appointment of the 12 new Human Rights Commissioners by the County Executive was confirmed by the Onondaga County Legislature.  An additional 4 new Commissioners appointed by the Legislature were confirmed on July 5, 2016.  An additional 6 new Commissioners were appointed by the Mayor of the City of Syracuse and began to participate actively in Commission meetings and activities in February 2017. 


Commissioners of Human Rights



Rasheada Caldwell



  Mbonimpa       Rev. Roosevelt Baum      Lanessa      Nodesia

    Mbonimpa Banabas       Rev. Roosevelt Baums      Lanessa Chaplin, Esq.                          Nodesia Hernandez


  Barbara        Agnes        Christopher Gilkes         Al-Amin 

     Barbara Johnson                   Agnes McCray               Christopher Gilkes         Al-amin Muhammed


 J.C.R. III      Mia Wade      Leo     Liban

      John C. Rushing III                                Mia Wade                                 Leo Sanchez               Liban Mohammed




The following people served as a Commissioner of Human Rights between 2016 and 2021:

  • Khadijo Abdulkadir
  • Ali Adan
  • Reverend H Bernard Alex
  • Steve Butler
  • Suzanna Carman
  • Bruce Carter, PhD
  • Sanjay Chhablani
  • Shui-Kai Chin
  • Crystal M. Doody, Esq.
  • Robert Gardino
  • Starr Guckert
  • David E. Pasinski
  • Rabbi Dan Fellman
  • Reverend Douglas P. Mackey
  • Chol Majok
  • Suzette M. Melendez, Esq.
  • Migdalia Morales
  • Montanette C. Murphy
  • Francis Parks
  • Gabriel Ramos
  • Shelley Skellington
  • Mary Alice Smothers
  • Joyce M. Suslovic
  • Jeffrey Tamburo
  • Tricia Wittkowski
  • Rosalie Young


The Human Rights Commission was founded in 1963 as an entity of the City of Syracuse.  It later became a joint City of Syracuse - Onondaga County entity.  In 1997 the Onondaga County/Syracuse Human Rights Commission became an entity that was housed in and supported by Onondaga County.  The City retained the ability to appoint 6 members of the Commission. 


The County Legislature defunded the Commission's staff in 2010, but 2 key functions of the old Commission office were retained, and 2 related staff were transferred into other County Departments. The Commission as a body did not meet for 5 years.  Then in February 2015 the Onondaga County Legislature passed legislation to renew and stengthen the Human Rights Commission, to charge the Commission staff with providing support to the new Justice Center Oversight Committee (JCOC) in addition to their regular Commisison duites, and to restore a budget line for a Commission office and an Executive Director.          (click here to view 2015 Local Laws D Establishing the JCOC & E Renewing the Human Rights Commission) 


The Human Rights office was re-opened in August 2015 with 2 staff - an Executive Director and one Human Rights Specialist.  After the appointment of an initial group of 16 new Commissioners were confirmed by the County Legislature, the first meeting of the new Human Rights Commission was held on Wednesday Sept. 14, 2016.



Director of Human Rights for Onondaga County


Director of HR

 Montanette Murphy

Office Objectives:


Provide diversity training to all county employees and to non-profit human services agencies


Provide presentations about human and civil rights, diversity and discrimination for community groups and organizations


Respond to requests for information, referral and other forms of assistance from community members (from 9am to 4pm Monday through Friday as staff are available)



Provide administrative support to the members of the Human Rights Commission and Justice Center Oversight Committee


Identify and investigate serious complaints relating to the Onondga County Justice Center for consideration by the Jail Oversight Committee


Coordinate Onondaga County's Title VI, ADA & LEP Plan in collaboration with Administrators in each County Department



Utilize processes of conference, conciliation, persuasion and education to address or resolve
situations of intergroup conflict and alleged discrimination


Produce pamphlets and factsheets to provide the public with information about human and civil rights, and about the Commission and its work


To Provide Feedback About the Disability Accessibility of An Onondaga County Department's Website, Click Here to Access the Department's Contact Page

© 2001-  Onondaga County, New York  All Rights Reserved.   |  Ongov.net  |  Privacy Statement | Directions & Parking | Language or Disability Access Assistance